The University of Iowa Mock Trial
2-Time National Champions

University of Iowa Mock Trial


Cornshucker Challenge

18th Annual Cornshucker Challenge
November 17-18, 2018
Tournament Information

The Field

Cornell College A

Cornell College B

Illinois State University

Loyola University Chicago

Miami (OH) A

Miami (OH) B

Northern Illinois University

Rhodes College A

Rhodes College B

University of Illinois (Champagne-Urbana)

University of Iowa A

University of Iowa B

University of Minnesota

Wheaton University

The Venue

The tournament will take place on the University of Iowa's College of Law on the main campus in Iowa City, Iowa. 

The Schedule

Saturday, November 17th

8:00     Registration

8:15      Opening Ceremony  & Round 1 Captains

9:00     Round 1

12:00    Lunch (pizza/salad for all teams)

1:00      Round 2 Captains

1:30      Round 2

Sunday, November 18th

8:30     Round 3 Captains

9:00     Round 3

12:00   Lunch (soup/salad for all teams)

1:00     Round 4 Captains

1:30     Round 4

4:45     Awards Ceremony

18th Annual Cornshucker Challenge
November 17-18, 2018

On November 17-18, 2018, University of Iowa Mock Trial hosted the 18th Annual Cornshucker Challenge. This year's Cornshucker Challenge consisted of 14 teams, of which half were competitors at last year's National Championship Tournament (and the other half were ORCS teams). As has been the custom at the Cornshucker, no coaches had to serve as judges. Additionally, this year we provided free lunch to all students (pizza and salad on Saturday; homemade soups on Sunday). If you are interested in learning more about the tournament or possibly attending next year, please contact Ryan Seelau at: 


to the

University of Illinois!

Winners of the 2018 Cornshucker Challenge, and the new proud caretakers of our traveling corn cob trophy.

Thanks to everyone who attended!



Miami University!

Winners of the 2018 Brooke Walton Civility Award, named after deceased former University of Iowa mock trial student, Brooke Walton. As the winners, Miami will be invited to return and not required to pay any registration fee for one team in 2019.